When you place AdSense blocks on your web pages and blogs, you get
paid a percentage of what advertisers pay Google. Currently this is 68% of the bid price
for that advert. So if somebody is paying Google $2 for every click on a
specific advert for a specific keyword, then you get $1.36 every time a
visitor to your site clicks on that advert if Google has placed it on
your page.
What you have to do is to do your best to maximize the CPC price, so that the adverts on your web pages and blog posts make you most money every time a visitor clicks on them. This involves getting Google to place the highest possible value adverts on your pages. You cannot decide the PPC of the published ads yourself , Google decides that based on several aspects of your web page/blog page/blog post.
There are two factors involved here: the CPC and CTR (Click Through Rate) the latter is the ratio of visitors who actually click on an advert rather than just read the page content and ignore the ads. A high CTR is often better than a high CPC.
Thus, if you get a CTR of 2% with adverts with a CPC of $0.75 (2 visitors in each 100 click on an advert), then that is better than a CTR of 1% with adverts with a CPC of $1.20. With the former, each 1,000 visits will make you $10.20 (68% of $15) while with the latter you would make only $8.16. So CTR matters, not just earnings per click. It’s how many that click that often makes your money, not always the cost of each click.
These are examples only, and your income per 1,000 visitors will depend upon the relevance of the AdSense ads to your visitors and where the adverts are situated on your site. There is also a lot you can do to improve CTR, but let’s first focus on how you can attract the best paying adverts: those with the highest CPC.
Many people use AdSense on their sites in the assumption that Google will provide relevant advertising. As you will learn shortly, this is true. However, while you might believe wrongly that your CPC will not change because of a failure to achieve this relevancy to your page, your CTR certainly will. Few will click on an advert not related to the keyword or phrase they used to get to your site.
What you have to do is to do your best to maximize the CPC price, so that the adverts on your web pages and blog posts make you most money every time a visitor clicks on them. This involves getting Google to place the highest possible value adverts on your pages. You cannot decide the PPC of the published ads yourself , Google decides that based on several aspects of your web page/blog page/blog post.
There are two factors involved here: the CPC and CTR (Click Through Rate) the latter is the ratio of visitors who actually click on an advert rather than just read the page content and ignore the ads. A high CTR is often better than a high CPC.
Thus, if you get a CTR of 2% with adverts with a CPC of $0.75 (2 visitors in each 100 click on an advert), then that is better than a CTR of 1% with adverts with a CPC of $1.20. With the former, each 1,000 visits will make you $10.20 (68% of $15) while with the latter you would make only $8.16. So CTR matters, not just earnings per click. It’s how many that click that often makes your money, not always the cost of each click.
These are examples only, and your income per 1,000 visitors will depend upon the relevance of the AdSense ads to your visitors and where the adverts are situated on your site. There is also a lot you can do to improve CTR, but let’s first focus on how you can attract the best paying adverts: those with the highest CPC.
1. Get Quality Traffic
This is out #1 Tip on how to increase AdSense CPC. Many leave it till last or do not even mention it at all. It is my view that if your visitors are not properly focused on your niche, then they will not click on adverts appertaining to it. You must make sure that your traffic is seeking what you are advertising.Many people use AdSense on their sites in the assumption that Google will provide relevant advertising. As you will learn shortly, this is true. However, while you might believe wrongly that your CPC will not change because of a failure to achieve this relevancy to your page, your CTR certainly will. Few will click on an advert not related to the keyword or phrase they used to get to your site.